Whitwell District Council Election 2015 – Results

The results for the 2015 Whitwell District Council election are as follows:

MUNRO, TomLabour672Yes
RITCHIE, Malcolm JohnLabour544Yes
WEBSTER, George OwenWhitwell Residents Association538No
MAIDEN, StuartIndependent476No
STREETS, Malcolm JohnIndependent422No
MILLS, VivWhitwell Residents Association449No
ROBERTS, PeteIndependent244No

Whitwell Parish Council Election 2015 – Results

The results from the 2015 Whitwell Parish Council Election are as follows:

WEBSTER, George OwenWhitwell Residents Association799Yes
MUNRO, TomLabour785Yes
MILLS, VivWhitwell Residents Association761Yes
ELLIS, Darren MichaelIndependent740Yes
MAIDEN, StuartIndependent722Yes
RASPIN, Jeanne MarjorieLabour650Yes
RASPIN, Frank PhilipLabour649Yes
GREEN, Harriet ElizabethLabour630Yes
BURDETT, Simon CharlesLabour624No
RITCHIE, Malcolm JohnLabour624No
AUSTIN, Karl Peter HillIndependent617No
WALE, SharleneWhitwell Residents Association530No
WALE, James RutledgeWhitwell Residents Association453No
WALE, John BrianWhitwell Residents Association436No

Parish Council By-Election – The Candidates

As we reported back in October Cllr. Sandy Frow resigned from the Whitwell Parish Council leaving a vacancy on the council.

As ten or more residents of Whitwell requested an election to fill the vacancy a by-election will take place on Thursday 10th Januaey 2013 between 7AM and 10PM with voting taking place at the Community Centre and the Bakestone Moor Friendship Hall.

Bolsover District Council today published the official list of candidates for the election, they are as follows in the published order:

  • AUSTIN, Karl Peter Hill; Whitwell Residents Assocation
  • BURDETT, Simon Charles; The Labour Party

Candidate names were taken from the list published on the Bolsover District Council "Upcoming Elections" page on 13th December 2012, 10:30.

Parish Councillor Resigns

As some of you will already know, Cllr. Frow has handed in her resignation to the Whitwell Parish Council and it was accepted on the 10th October 2012 at the Parish Council Meeting.  This leaves a vacancy on the Parish Council and 3 possible options:

  1. Things continue as they are now, with 7 of 8 council seats filled (4 Labour, 3 Residents Association).
  2. The Parish Council co-opts a member on to the council.
  3. An election is called for by residents of Whitwell Parish, this has two outcomes:
    1. Only one person decides to stand for election, in which case they are duly elected.
    2. More than one person stands and a ballot is required as per normal election time procedure.

Option 2 would have an effect on the Parish Councils policy of pursuing Quality Status for the council, as it is not possible to obtain Quality Status with co-opted members.

Anyone wishing to see a fully democratically elected council (we expect a majority of the current council would like to co-opt based on what we picked up from the council meeting) would need to obtain ten signatures on a letter addressed to the Returning Officer at Bolsover District Council before the 24th of October 2012 requesting that an election be called to fill the vacancy on Whitwell Parish Council.

If the above description fits you and you're not sure you can get ten signatures from like minded members of the parish then please let us know and if anyone else wishes to do the same then we will put you all in touch with each other.

We'd also like to hear from you on what you consider the desired outcome/option at this moment in time.